On 19 October 2016 Iranian authorities announced that they have sentenced Siamak Namazi, age 45, and his 80-year old ailing father, Baquer Namazi, each to a 10-year prison sentence. (Please click for more information on
Baquer and Siamak)

We, the undersigned, write you in support of Baquer and Siamak Namazi to express our concern for both their imprisonment and sentences.  We are convinced that there has been inadvertent miscarriage of justice as both Baquer and Siamak Namazi are innocent respected individuals who have dedicated their lives and efforts to humanitarian causes. 

We further express our concern in respect to the physical and emotional wellbeing of both individuals being particularly worried for Baquer Namazi’s with an advance age of 80.

As concerned international citizens, scholars and academics we urge you to secure the immediate release of both Baquer and Siamak Namazi and for them to be allowed to reunite with their family.

Signed by:

Abderssatar Ben Moussa - 2015 Nobel Peace Prize Laureate
Noam Chomsky - Professor Emeritus, MIT
Javier Solana - Former Foreign Policy Chief of the European Union
Ervand Abrahamian - Professor, City University of New York
Edward Mortimer - Distinguished Fellow, All Souls College, Oxford
Vali Nasr - Dean of the John Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies
Costica Bradatan - Associate Professor, Catholic University of Lille
Agnes Heller - Hungarian Academy of Sciences
Nader Hashemi - University of Denver
Ambassador Roberto Toscano - Former Italian Ambassador to Iran and India
Fred Dallmayr - Professor, University of Notre Dame
Michael Walzer - Professor Emeritus, Institute for Advanced Study
Ramaswamy Sudarshan - Dean and Professor, Jindal Global University
Marco Vianello-Chiodo - Former Deputy Executive Director of UNICEF
Romila Thapar - Historian, Writer
Giancarlo Bosetti - Director of Reset-Dialogues on Civilizations
Etienne Balibar - Professeur émérite, Université de Paris-Ouest
Alessandro Ferrara - Professor, University of Rome Tor Vergata
Richard J Bernstein - Professor, The New School for Social Research
Toni Negri - Political Philosopher
M. Gerard Fromm - Former Director, Erikson Institute, Austen Riggs Centre    
Mark Freeman - Executive Director, Institute for Integrated Transitions (IFIT)
Saad Eddin Ibrahim - Founding Chair, Ibn Khaldoun Center for Development Studies, Cairo  
Barbara Ibrahim - Founding Director, Gerhart Center for Philanthropy and Civic Engagement, American University in Cairo
Charles Taylor - Professor Emeritus at McGill University
Wendy Dent - Founder/CEO, Cinemmerse
Bjarte Reve - CEO, Nansen Neuroscience Network, Norway
Mirjam Staub-Bisang - CEO, Independent Capital Group Ltd.
Necla Tschirgi - Professor, University of San Diego
William M. Plater - Chancellor's Professor Emeritus, Indiana University
Niccolo Figa-Talamanca - Secretary General of No Peace Without Justice
Daniel Kurtzer, Professor, Princeton University
Arne Kislenko - Professor, Ryerson University, Toronto
Paula Escobar-Chavarria - Chilean Author
Vamik Volkan - Professor Emeritus, University of Virginia
Richard Dalton - Chatham House
Emma Playfair - OBE, UK
Engin Isin - Professor, The Open University, UK
Jacques Bidet - Professor Emeritus, University of Paris-X
Claudia Moatti - Professor, University of Paris 8
David W. Harvey - Distinguished Professor, City University of New York (CUNY)
Rajeswari Sunder Rajan - Global Distinguished Professor, New York University
Emilio de Ípola - Profesor emérito, Universidad de Buenos Aires Argentina
Marwan Muasher - Former Vice President, World Bank
Mustapha Nabli - Former Senior Advisor, World Bank
Robert A. Destro - Professor, The Catholic University of America
John Garrison - Adjunct Professor, Elliott School of International Affairs, George Washington University
Farzaneh Milani - Professor, University of Virginia
Arshin Adib-Moghaddam - Professor, School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS), University of London
Ann Elizabeth Mayer - Associate Professor, Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania
Richard Davis - Professor Emeritus, The Ohio State University
Ingrid Srinarth - Professor, Ashoka University

Signatures will be updated on a daily basis.